Request ”Save Settings on Exit” - [Archived] MicroStation V8i Forum - MicroStation - Be Communities by Bentley

Request ”Save Settings on Exit”

MicroStation

MicroStation
This is the “general” community for all issues that are not associated with any of the “peer MicroStation communities”.
[Archived] MicroStation V8i Forum

Request ”Save Settings on Exit”

  • save settings on Exit.gif
    Hi everyone.

    I have occasionally thought since before.
    It is to turn off "Save Settings on Exit" in an initial setting.
    As a result, First Time User forgets ”Save Setting”.
    First Time User returns the setting and is always embarrassed.
    I do not think it is too good.

    What does you think?
    I want you to turn this on and to release it.
  • I am with you (I think). I don't like users to have this setting on for a couple of reasons.

    -Batch plotting. Drawings get left with levels & view settings on/off that shouldn't be.

    -Indecipherable thumbnails, the thumb nail gets (re)created when the user exits to "some place" in the drawing that is of no help viewing drawings in the MicroStation Manager dialog.

    Yea, I don't like it. Most users don't realize the ramifications of it.

    Scott

  • My users have this specifically ticked  to ensure that they enter the drawing and menus as they left it.

    I would be nice to have the interface settings (per user) to be seperate from the drawing settings (per file)

  • Interface is dictated by UPF - right? Drawing by save settings?

  • "Save Settings (Ctrl+F)" actually is a "save file setting" - it saves e.g. view settings - what, where and how - , also e.g. text, scale, units, grid, locks. So the user only wants to do that just when those settings need to be changed. In many cases users want to come back to a particular view constellation and [EDIT:] NOT as they left the file the last time , but rather in a state that is only defined 'on purpose' using "Save Settings" [end of EDIT]

    The interface (per user) is filed in the user profile - according to the user selected in the "File Open" dialog (when you start microstation) - you can have several different ones for particular purposes - all interface changes - like menues - are filed immediately and are not influenced by save settings.

    HTH, Gerd

    Wähle deine Funktion aus - Prüfe die Optionen (F1 für Hilfe) - Folge den Anweisungen in der Statusleiste
          Choose your tool - Set the Settings (F1 for Help) - Follow the prompts


  • Scott,

    unless I missunderstood, You do not agree with Ryuichi. As far as I read, he wants to get this setting as "on by default" !?

    I'm with you that having this setting on is a pain. You always end up with a drawing that is not in the place you left it, whenever another user just opens and zooms for information. Having this setting off is intial to using batch plotting (as you stated) and some other stuff that needs to have a 'fixed' entry point. In worst case the user is leaving a drawing in a copy of a model you worked on, which is than opened, and I bet you do not realize that you now work on the copy.

    As stated before, save settings is for file content (drawing units, raster - ey funny if they 're changed) not for the UI beside the fact that the views are automatically resized to the content of the views as they are in the file.

    my 5ct

    Michael

  • For drawing sheets it would be nice to leave this off, but for model files its nicer to enter the model as you left it especially if you are boucing between many sub models.

  • Hi everyone

    think you for reply.

    I do post here and have understood.

    "Save Settings on Exit" can be set by the interface.

    I did not know this setting.

    Thank you for you who taught.

    I am managing CAD setting of my company.

    I  will manage Save Setting on Exit by the interface tomorrow.

    However, there is another one problem of presenting it here.

    This setting is not made puzzled of the first user.

    Most users do not understand the cause and long time passes.

    I want to discuss turning off the first setting.

    regards.

  • Hi,

    I think that the bottom line is that each way has an advantage and a disadvantage.  Either way could cause problems with a "first time user".  That's why it is a preference and it's just something that needs to be checked and set the way you want to operate your copy of Mstn.  

    I absolutely do not want this setting on in my office.  When it comes to plotting, it you change something and leave the drawing (not even thinking about anything), if the settings are automatically saved then you've messed up the next time that file plots.  But of course the flip is that if you want to save settings & you forget, then you have to redo what you wanted to do.

    I think that which ever default is chosen, we all will have to go back and verify if it is the way we want it for ourselves.

    --Robert

  • Thank you for the input.  Because of the historical nature of the way the product works we do not plan to make this change.  We will continue to montior this type of request and reconsider this decision in the future.

    best,
    ~john.
    bentley 

      

    Yes I am that literal

  • Scott Harmon

    Indecipherable thumbnails, the thumb nail gets (re)created when the user exits to "some place" in the drawing that is of no help viewing drawings in the MicroStation Manager dialog.

     

    Hi Scott, are you aware of MS_THUMBNAIL to control what is used for the thumbnail?

    More here:  http://communities.bentley.com/communities/other_communities/askinga/w/askinga/all-about-thumbnail-generation.aspx

    Best Regards,

    ~Inga

    Pick the tool.  Adjust the settings. Follow the prompts.

      

  • In some firms I've actually added some vb to the autorun vb to make sure this option if off. I'm not a fan as a rule. I then make sure users know the ramifications of using save settings and make them use it on a function key or similar if they do want it.

  • RobertArnold

    I absolutely do not want this setting on in my office.  When it comes to plotting, it you change something and leave the drawing (not even thinking about anything), if the settings are automatically saved then you've messed up the next time that file plots.  But of course the flip is that if you want to save settings & you forget, then you have to redo what you wanted to do.I

    We have this setting set all the time, so that we know exactly how the drawing will be when we open it. Never had a problem with have this set to on.

    I'm not getting the plotting example above, Surely when plotting a drawing (with title block, sheet layout, etc) it is WYSIWYG. If you change something wouldn't that be on a revision?

  • There are pros and cons either way this is set, its simply automating the process for you, for every file. Choose your poison. I know for sheets files I would like it off, but for model files to be on. I live with it on and use saved views to control sheet display. Perhaps it's I'm being less efficient...?

    What you and all your co-workers need to know is that it IS or IS NOT set and work accordingly.

    A more productive answer might be listing exactly what settings get saved:

    Level display,

    Viewport positions/size/display style,

    Preferences,

    What else....

  • Level display and viewport positions are those things that I don't like to be changed by another user who is 'visiting' my drawing. And especially level on/off is deadly for plotting, even when you suppose that you only plot from sheets (which is still not true for all of our customers - for whatever reason). And I even don't want to create an additional saved view to assure my preview is where I want it.

    Roberts advice is the best so far. Let's figure out what is really saved, and each one (or each admin) can decide if he wants to become temporary changes of those settings as permanent ones, each time someone leaves the drawing.

    Preferences is a little bit to much general. There is nothing saved that is a dialog setting with respect to anything that might be changed by settings/design file (so active angle is changed from different dialogs i.e. placing cells). All this stuff like units, raster, angle-readout etc. is influenced by 'save setting'.

    So anything else to rememeber ?