13th Aug, 2013: The stage was set to felicitate the winning team for the 2013 Scott Lofgren Student Design Awards in “Innovation in Bridge/Road Technology” category.

This day Indian Institute of Technology Madras (IITM) hosted their “Civil Engineering Association” gathering for their alumni, faculties and their students representing the Civil Engineering Department. The Auditorium was full with about 300 spectators representing their Civil Engineering community.

Bentley Award Ceremony being participated IITM - Civil Engineering Association

The event began with an introduction about the gathering and welcoming guests from Bentley Systems, Incorporated. Dr. S.R. Gandhi, Head of Civil Department welcomed Bentley and shared about Bentley-IITM collaboration since past 6 years.

On Stage: (sitting L to R) Dr. S.R. Gandhi; Dr. V.R. Raju (IITM Alumni); Mohit Bradoo & Atanu Patanayak

Following was an interesting presentation by Atanu Pattanayak, Territory Executive, South Asia, Bentley Systems, Incorporated highlighting an Infrastructure project with an Engineer’s involvement in various solutions of a project. This was really inspiring for students.

Atanu motivating the Civil Engineering Students

I had the opportunity to make a presentation about Be Careers Network Academic Program and announce winners for the 2013 Scott Lofgren Student Design Competition.

Presentation on Academic Program & 2013 Scott Lofgren Student Design Competition

The winning students made a presentation about their project and challenges they encountered. Their task was to improve the road and traffic situation of existing junction near Haji Ali in Mumbai (Maharashtra State), India.


Winning team (Innovation in Bridge/ Road Technology) making presentation

With an unceasing mentoring from their Transportation faculty, Dr. Murali Krishnan and mastering on Bentley MX Road and STAAD.Pro software, they finally evolved a design which consisted of improving the existing road network, building new flyovers and junctions to overcome the issues. They were able to improve the road efficiency by 114% as well as avoid multiple conflicts to improve the speed of moving vehicles.

You may read about the Student project at www.bentley.com/studentdesignwinners or view University website – http://www.civil.iitm.ac.in/node/780.

This was the moment to announce the winning team for “Innovation in Bridge/ Road Technology” category and you could hear 300 students hailing for the winning team – Siddhesh, Aakanksha & Dinesh.

 (L to R) Winning team - Dr. J. Murali Krishnan; Dinesh Soundappa; Siddhesh Godbole & Aakanksha Jadhav receiving 2013 Scott Lofgren Student Design Award from Atanu Pattanayak

It was indeed a privilege to represent Bentley and rewarding the winning students with medals, certificates, scholarship and the Trophy.

(L to R) M. Rajathurai; Atanu Pattanayak; Dinesh Soundappa; Siddhesh Godbole; Dr. S.R. Gandhi; Dr. J. Murali Krishnan; Aakanksha Jadhav; Mohit Bradoo & Arun Kumar on stage

The event ended with a Vote of thanks from Dr. Gandhi.