We are pleased to announce the winners of this years Bentley Student Design Competition which has been renamed  the Scott Lofgren Student Design Awards in honor of the late Scott Lofgren, Bentley's global Be Careers Network director, who tirelessly advocated for academic programs that help young people learn technical skills in preparation for careers in engineering. 

The winning projects in this year’s competition are:

  • Eveleigh Cinémathèque, Marguerite Farmakis, University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia, in the “Innovation in Architectural Design” category;
  • IIT Madras Design for Haji Ali Junction, Aakanksha Jadhav, Siddhesh Godbole, and Dinesh S Soundappa, Indian Institute of Technology, Chennai, India, in the “Innovation in Road or Bridge Design” category;
  • Onehunga Primary School Entranceway, Melanie Pau, Yusef Patel, and Stefan Panovski, University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand, in the “Innovation in Engineering Design – Structural, Mining, or Hydraulic” category;
  • Church in Trinidad Bay, Mateusz Ilba, AGH University of Science and Technology, Krakow, Poland, in the “Innovation in Rendering using MicroStation” category;
  • Union Station, Washington D.C., Francis Jacaban, Eastern Technical High School, Baltimore, Md., U.S.A., in the “Design a Retail Center” category.
The winning students and projects in the 2013 Scott Lofgren Student Design Awards competition will be recognized at their respective schools. Additionally, winners will each receive a scholarship and their respective schools will each receive a handcrafted award and a 10-seat Academic SELECT subscription – including more than 50 products and OnDemand training – through the Be Careers Network.
Dr. Francelina Neto, department chair of Civil Engineering, California State Polytechnic University Pomona, was named  the 2013 Bentley Educator of the Year. The Bentley Educator of the Year award will be presented to Dr. Neto at The Year in Infrastructure 2013 Conference, being held Oct. 28-31 at the Hilton London Metropole in London, U.K
More information on the winning projects can be found on this dedicated page 
Congratulations to all.