Saved View Usage

A saved view is a view definition, which includes the level display for both the active model and references, the clip volume, and other view attributes. A saved view can be applied in a model in the same file or attached as a reference to a model in the same file or external file. In MicroStation, you can view the list of models in which a saved view is used. The Saved View Usage dialog displays the list of models (in the same file or external file) in which a particular saved view is used.

MicroStation uses MS_DEF configuration variable to harvest references where the selected saved view is used. So you need to first define the path of the folder or file which you want to harvest for the saved view’s usage. Then you need to right-click the saved view in Saved Views dialog or Project Explorer dialog and select Find Uses. MicroStation uses the path defined in the MS_DEF configuration variable to harvest the references where the saved view is used. If it finds any models in which the saved view is referenced, the Saved View Usage dialog opens and lists those models.

If the saved view is not referenced or applied in any model, the Saved View Usage dialog does not open and a message appears in the status bar saying no instances are linked to the saved view.

 The Saved View Usage dialog gives following details of saved view:

  • Type: Lists how the saved view is used.
  • Name: Logical name of the Reference where the saved view is used.
  • Location: Path of the model in which the saved view is used.

In the Saved View Usage dialog, you can select the model in which the saved view is applied and click Open to open the model.

When you try to delete a saved view, an Alert window appears from where you can click the Find Uses button. Thus before deleting the saved view, you can find whether the given saved view is used in any another model.

The dialog can also be opened using the following key-in:

NAMEDVIEW FINDUSES <view_name>

 

 

More blogs coming up, so stay tuned...

Anonymous