Default grade B permissions

Hello,

When first adding a role or person to an object's security the grade B permissions default to allow the role/user to modify and delete the object, but not to view it.

Please can you advise where these defaults can be changed, so when a role is added different permissions are ticked?

Thanks,

Catherine