AECOSIM Building Designer SS5

Dear All

Could you please help me make clearly this issue below?

I'm working on AECOsim Building Design (Microstation - S4) and file sharing on Windows Server 2012 R2 and Windows 2003. If I setup “disable offline file “ on PC client (Windows 2007 – SP1). Is there any affect to file sharing that they are using AECOSIM ?.

Note: Windows 7 setup “enable offline file” default.

Parents
  • vo ngoc bach,

    Here is what I found about the "Disable offline files" option -

    If you work with files on a network, you can make the files available offline so you can access them even when your computer is not connected to the network. This is especially useful if you use a laptop to connect to a workplace network.

    When you make a network file, or all files in a network folder, available offline, Windows creates a copy of the file or folder on your computer. This is called an offline file. The next time you disconnect from the network, you'll still be able to open, modify, and save the file the same way you would if you were still connected. And when you do connect to the network again, Windows will automatically sync the offline file on your computer with the corresponding file on the network to update it.

    As long as both the Server and Client machines remain connected to the Network, everything should continue to work fine.  If either (or both) of the machines becomes disconnected from the network, you would no longer be able to work on files because you would no longer have access to the files over the network.

    Please let me know if you find this not to be the case.

    Thanks,
    Larry

    Answer Verified By: Thai  

Reply
  • vo ngoc bach,

    Here is what I found about the "Disable offline files" option -

    If you work with files on a network, you can make the files available offline so you can access them even when your computer is not connected to the network. This is especially useful if you use a laptop to connect to a workplace network.

    When you make a network file, or all files in a network folder, available offline, Windows creates a copy of the file or folder on your computer. This is called an offline file. The next time you disconnect from the network, you'll still be able to open, modify, and save the file the same way you would if you were still connected. And when you do connect to the network again, Windows will automatically sync the offline file on your computer with the corresponding file on the network to update it.

    As long as both the Server and Client machines remain connected to the Network, everything should continue to work fine.  If either (or both) of the machines becomes disconnected from the network, you would no longer be able to work on files because you would no longer have access to the files over the network.

    Please let me know if you find this not to be the case.

    Thanks,
    Larry

    Answer Verified By: Thai  

Children