Problem My design file is not saving the changes automatically when they are made on the file and I have lost all my changes.
The reason behind this is Auto-save Design change option is not turned on in your end.
Auto-Save Design automatically saves changes to the design file as they are made.
Below is the workflow that needs to be followed in order to enable the Auto-save Design change option.
1. While in OpenBuildings Designer CONNECT Edition with an opened design file clicks on the File menu at the top left corner.
2. Then Go to Settings > User > Preferences > Operation > and under that, you will find the section entitled " Auto-save Design change " and ticked on in this option and then save the changes and this will modify the changes in the user preference.
Option 2> Else you can Go to Configuration Variables and define the configuration variable: MS_DGNAUTOSAVE
i.e. If this variable is set to 0 or a negative number, auto-save is disabled for all files types. If set to a positive number, auto-save is enabled for all file types. The specified positive number applies when editing V8 format design files. It determines the number of seconds of user inactivity that should elapse before OpenBuildings Designer auto-saves. Now define the value as desired. For example, if set to 2 (the default), an auto-save will occur when there is no user activity for about 2 seconds
Similarly, for the autosave of the DWG file, you can define the variable MS_DWGAUTOSAVE
i.e. If this variable is set to a positive number, specifies the number of seconds after the movement of the cursor stops in the DWG or DXF file that auto-save occurs. When this time elapses, an Alert window appears that asks whether the changes should be saved. The saving time can be significant, so you can defer the saving by clicking Cancel. If set to zero, no auto-save is done while the file is open. The file is automatically saved on exit or when switching to a different file.