Problem My design file is not automatically saving the changes I make so I have lost all my changes after exiting.
The reason behind this is Auto-save Design change option is not enabled. Auto-Save Design automatically saves changes to the design file as they are made.
Below is the workflow that needs to be followed in order to enable the Auto-save Design change option:
1. While in OpenBuildings Designer with a design file opened, click on the File menu at the top left corner.
2. Next, choose Settings > User > Preferences > Operation, where you will find the option called " Auto-save Design changes". Enable this option and click on OK.
Option 2. You can also open the Configuration Variables dialog box and define the configuration variable: MS_DGNAUTOSAVE
If this variable is set to 0 or a negative number, auto-save is disabled for all files types. If set to a positive number, auto-save is enabled for all file types. The specified positive number applies when editing V8 format design files, and determines the number of seconds of user inactivity that should elapse before OpenBuildings Designer auto-saves. Now define the value as desired. For example, if set to 2 (the default), an auto-save will occur when there is no user activity for about 2 seconds.
Similarly, to autosave in a DWG file, you can define the variable MS_DWGAUTOSAVE.
If this variable is set to a positive number it specifies the number of seconds after the movement of the cursor stops in the DWG or DXF file that an auto-save occurs. When this time elapses, an Alert window appears that asks whether the changes should be saved. The saving time can be significant, so you can defer the saving by clicking Cancel. If set to zero, no auto-save is performed while the file is open. The file is automatically saved on exit or when switching to a different file.