This section explains how to work in a connected project once you have opened it in 4D Pro
Once you have opened a Control project in SYNCHRO 4D Pro, you will remain connected to the project as long as you have internet connection. If you are a previous SWP user, this will be familiar to you – see this topic for differences from SWP. If you have only worked on stand-alone private projects (.sp files) before, continue working in 4D Pro like always, but now your work will updated automatically to other users in Control, 4D Pro and Field and vice versa.
Each change made by any user to the project data is called a transaction. Transactions made locally are submitted to the shared project via the cloud service. Transactions can be monitored in the Windows ribbon >Transactions window in SYNCHRO 4D Pro.
Changes to presentation (e.g. applied cutting planes and filters in the 3D window and sorting in tables) are applied only locally on the current user’s computer and are not considered transactions. Local presentation changes do not affect other users who are simultaneously connected to the project. However, edits to the filters, cutting planes and appearance profiles themselves are changes to project data and the transactions will be sent to make those update items available to other users
When working on a connected SYNCHRO Control 4D project, the Transactions window logs Pending Transactions, Rejected Transactions, and Transaction History
The total Transaction count (from all users) can also be seen in the Status bar at the bottom of the SYNCHRO 4D Pro application window
When working on a connected Control project, the Undo and Redo functions are not available. Instead if you make a mistake, you should edit the property to the correct value or reverse the mistaken action (eg. if you created an object by mistake, you should delete it). For Administrators, rollback is available to rollback to a certain transaction, undoing transactions from all users after that point in the history. This is different than the usual undo since it applies not only to the user’s own transactions, but to all transactions from any user.
NOTE: When using Rollback, the project will be immediately re-loaded completely for all users and their work will be interrupted briefly while it is loading. Additionally, the users’ presentation settings will be reset (similar to when opening a project). Therefore, it is recommended to communicate with other users before performing a rollback.
To use rollback, in the Transactions window>Transaction History tab, select the Transaction you would like to rollback to (the transaction you select will be kept but more recent transactions will all be rolled back). Right click and select Rollback To. This cannot be undone!
Working in a connected SYNCHRO Control project requires an internet connection at all times. If you are disconnected from the internet while a Control project is open, you will receive the following warning:
When you regain connection to the internet, press the Re-connect button to connect to the project and resume working.
Other possible reasons that you may be disconnected from a project if your internet connection is uninterrupted are if the iModel in Control is being re-deployed from a new SP file, was deleted, or Set up iModel for scheduling service was disabled for the iModel. In these cases, after pressing Re-connect the same warning dialog will be raised again. Then press Cancel to exit the project.
See also: Differences compared to SYNCHRO Workgroup Project (SWP)
NEXT: Reviewing the 4D Project in SYNCHRO Control