Coffee Corner: Geotechnical Analysis - NorSand: Liquefaction analysis in PLAXIS

Title: Coffee Corner: Geotechnical Analysis - NorSand: Liquefaction analysis in PLAXIS
Presenter: Micha van der Sloot, Senior Manager User Success - Geotechnical, Bentley Systems, Inc. and Sandro Brasile, Geotechnical Research, Bentley Systems
Date and Time: Tuesday, September 14, 2021, at 10:00 AM CEST and 4:00 PM CEST

Register Here for 4:00 PM SGT / 10:00 AM CEST /   Session!

Register Here for 4:00 PM CEST / 10:00 AM EDT / 07:00 AM PDT Session!


Liquefaction phenomena can have devastating consequences for human life and the environment. In the recent past, some tailing dams failed due to static liquefaction. The NorSand model is a constitutive soil model that is designed to capture this static liquefaction in loosely packed materials.

In this Coffee Corner course, we will go into more detail using this model and you will learn more about:

  • Parameters for the NorSand model
  • Calibration and attention points for this soil model

We will show a practical example demonstrating the triggering of static liquefaction

Geotechnical Analysis Coffee Corners are open to all Bentley users, free of charge. One learning unit is applied to each participant’s Bentley Transcript for self-reporting. To view prior sessions, watch the Recordings On-Demand.

**The webcast will be streamed through your computer, so there is no dial-in number.  Please make sure your computer speakers (or headset) are turned on and the volume is set to an audible level so you can hear the presenters.  Help

#PLAXIS

Anonymous