seismic behaviour of a soil-nailed wall

Hello

I am studying the seismic behavior of a soil-nailed vertical wall in a dry cohesionless medium (mainly in order to evaluate site displacement). Since I can’t have enough information about seismic movement, im considering using a pseudo-static approach. I found a lot of studies about the subject using PLAXIS and a pseudo static approach but from my understanding, this is not a suitable choice for excavation studies since the results are dependent on the chosen project size (a bigger project area will result in higher forces and displacements). I would like to have your thoughts on the subject?
We have done already a site stability study using a Limit equilibrium mathod, and we have an idea about the position of the critical slip surface, could we use these information in order to fix the vertical boundaries of The PLAXIS model) (i.e. place the vertical boundaries a few meters away from the critical surface).
Thank you

Best regards

Alia HATEM-QUIRIN

• The first part of your question depends on whether you are considering elastic or elastoplastic behaviour. This question is similar to the question answered at the following link:  RE: Size effect on modelling Plaxis 2d
    PLAXIS determines the most critical slip surface in the safety analysis. You can try extending the model boundaries and the geometry and material properties will dictate the shape the critical slip surface. There is also an option to exclude materials from strength reduction as this option simply instructs the cluster not to "participate" in the strength reduction. You can then create the model geometry in such a way that the soil clusters form the shape of a pre-defined slip surface and you can the exclude strength reduction in the remaining soil clusters thereby forcing the slip surface to pass through the pre-defined zone.

• Dear Mr Khan