You are currently reviewing an older revision of this page.
When a project is opened from a network drive, it can be opened by more than one person. Is there a way to make it so a project to only be opened by a single user?
There is no switch on the program model files that will stop multiple users from opening a project that is saved to a network drive.
If the project needs to be saved to a network drive, you may want to look into the Bentley ProjectWise. Bentley ProjectWise allows a user to save a file where it is accessible to other users in the organization. However, ProjectWise allows for the files to be checked out by a user. When this is done, the file will not be available to other users, though it will still be listed in the ProjectWise database. Information on who has the file checked out is also available, so it will be easy to know who is working on what files at a given time. More information on Bentley ProjectWise can be found at the following link: http://www.bentley.com/en-US/Products/ProjectWise+Integration+Server/ or through your account manager.
If Bentley ProjectWise is not an option, and you cannot change the network drive configuration to stop files that are already access from being accessed again, it is sometimes better to have the model files saved to the local drive. If a user is working on a project, they can copy the SewerCAD files out of the network drive so they are literally no longer there for others to use. They can then work on file and save it back to the network drive.