A workstation with a Windows client operating system (e.g. Windows 7, 8, 10, etc.) can be shared either physically or virtually via Remote Desktop to control product usage. The workstation will only allow one active Windows user session at a time.
If a user disconnects from a Windows user session instead of signing off, any open Bentley products will continue to run and log usage. This can also happen when another user signs in with a different Windows user account and disconnects the first user. Windows will disconnect the first user's session but will not sign out immediately since any unsaved work could be lost. This explains how multiple remote machines can log usage simultaneously on a Windows client operating system.
Configure local group policy to automatically sign off disconnected sessions after a defined time period using the following configuration steps:
Warning: Any unsaved work in a disconnected session may be lost when Windows signs out of the session.
Important: Users initiating a lengthy process such as an analysis should not disconnect from the remote session. Otherwise, the process will be aborted when Windows signs out of the disconnected session.
Other Language Sources