Turn Connection Client Sign-in OFF

So far we were installing the free Bentley View 08.11.09.459 (vw081109459en SS3) I'm trying to create a new corporate PC image, with the new View 08.11.09.829 (vw081109829en SS4). The new version has a limited 'free use' (only 7 days) and demands a registration via the login of the Connection Client.

This is a tool for blue-collar workers, or administrative people from all over the company, to be  able to see our CAD files . They don't need cloud-connection or co-operation or file sharing. Some don't even have an internet connection.It should just be a viewer of .DGN-files, and nothing more.

How can I configure Bentley View (with or without the Connection Client) to be able to run for more than 7 days, without having to supply or create a login for every separate user? I need a silent login by default, or no login at all.

As a sideline: I have always been an advocate of using Bentley software all over the company, but if they insist on feeding us functionality we don't need - we will never go into a cloud-based environment - without the possibility of turning it off, I'm afraid that my management is going to turn away from Bentley because it's too much trouble.

Parents
  • Bentley View is offers rich functionality and is offered free of charge. To use it for more than 7 days, it is necessary to be a Connected User, which requires only to create a free profile on Bentley.com and then signing in with that credential. It is not necessary to have an internet connection when using Bentley View, only to connect at least once per week to reset the 7-day period. In order to have a "silent" sign-in, once a user has authenticated with the Connection Client, it will retain the credentials and sign in automatically when an internet connection is present.

    As for the Project Chooser Dialog appearing when a new Workspace is opened, once a Connected Project ID is written to the PCF, it will no longer appear. As pointed out in a link in Jon's post, you can manually edit the PCF, or you can cancel out of the Project Chooser Dialog once it appears and it will write zeroes to the Connected Project ID variable and not appear again on subsequent files.



Reply
  • Bentley View is offers rich functionality and is offered free of charge. To use it for more than 7 days, it is necessary to be a Connected User, which requires only to create a free profile on Bentley.com and then signing in with that credential. It is not necessary to have an internet connection when using Bentley View, only to connect at least once per week to reset the 7-day period. In order to have a "silent" sign-in, once a user has authenticated with the Connection Client, it will retain the credentials and sign in automatically when an internet connection is present.

    As for the Project Chooser Dialog appearing when a new Workspace is opened, once a Connected Project ID is written to the PCF, it will no longer appear. As pointed out in a link in Jon's post, you can manually edit the PCF, or you can cancel out of the Project Chooser Dialog once it appears and it will write zeroes to the Connected Project ID variable and not appear again on subsequent files.



Children