LumenRT content - multiple updates

The LumenRT updates have left my hard drive with large folders of LRT content;

  • Bentley LumenRT CONNECT Edition - Update 1 (5938 files)
  • Bentley LumenRT CONNECT Edition - Update 10 (4789 files)
  • Bentley LumenRT CONNECT Edition - Update 12 (4290 files)

In addition, I've added a number of LOB files to these folders, created in PlantFactory.

Question are;

  1. Would it be safe to delete the first two updates, so that I only have the Update 12 folder? Related to this; there are folders for each update in Program Files.
  2. Why does the update installer not do this automatically, so that there is only one location for the current version of LumenRT?

Thanks,

Max

  • LumenRT 16.12.22.66
  • Microstation v8i 08.11.09.829
  • Microstation CE 10.12.00.40
  • Hi Max,

    This has bother me for a long time. LumenRT update installers seems to happily install the latest version in an existing folder that may be several versions old. This makes it very confusing for the user.

    I have made it a habit to uninstall LumenRT before doing any updates. This seems to avoid leaving old folders and potentially other items from previous updates.

    We shouldn't have to manage the files and folders manually, this should be done automatically by the installer.

    Regards,
    Ron

  • Thanks Ron, I'm glad you agree.

    I typically don't uninstall older versions of any software, in the hope that the update installers would keep any customizations and user-created content while overwriting redundant files/ folders. It seems like the intuitive thing to do, and generally works with most things I use. Adobe and Microsoft products seem to do a really good job of tidying up after themselves. Here's hoping LumenRT will head in the same direction.

    Max

  • Would it be safe to delete the first two updates, so that I only have the Update 12 folder? Related to this; there are folders for each update in Program Files.

    Yes if you are on the current update it will looke for the content under the content folder matching that updates name

    When updating the software did you run the installer or did you update through the connection client?

    if done through the installer each updates installer creates a new content folder which would explain the multiple folders during the install process you can change to an existing content folder to avoid duplicates.