Saving DGN to DWG with reference files attached. Why are some Levels turned ON after saving to DWG?When Saving to DWG the Levels in the file do not match the original settings from the DGN file. This solution will list the possibilities.
Save As DWG Options:General Tab > Source of Level DisplaySource of Level Display:Controls how levels are displayed in the DWG file.If set to Global, the AutoCAD layers visibility is controlled from the global setting, and the levels that are turned off on a per-view basis are turned on in the AutoCAD file.If set to one of the eight views, the AutoCAD layers are not visible if they are turned off either globally or in that view. Although MicroStation allows you to turn on and turn off levels either globally or on a per-view basis, AutoCAD allows only global control.
Reference Tab > Copy Levels During MergeCopy Levels During Merge:Describes how levels are handled when you merge references from the DGN file into a DWG/ DXF file.If Not Found Levels from the reference are merged into the output file only if they (or a level with the same name) do not exist in the active model.If Overrides Exist Levels from the reference are merged into the output file if the level does not exist in the active model, or if the settings for the active model level are different than those of the attachment.Differences include overrides that have been applied to the attachment levels, or differences between the levels as defined in the active model and reference.Always Levels from the reference are merged into the output file even if an identical level exists within the active model.