The default behavior for the integrated File > Save command in AutoCAD is to only save the changes locally, to the copy of the document in your ProjectWise working directory. Changes are only saved to ProjectWise when you check in or update the server copy of the document. This default behavior also affects how xrefs are saved to ProjectWise. Every time you save a drawing in AutoCAD, the drawing and its xref information will be saved locally but will not be saved to ProjectWise until you check in or update the server copy of the document. This is useful when you want to work with xrefs locally and do not want to update server copy after each change. If necessary, there is a registry key you can set to override this default behavior, that will force the master document and its xrefs to be saved to ProjectWise every time you select File > Save in AutoCAD.
To Override the Default Integrated Behavior for Saving Documents and Updating XRefs