Managing Reference Versions

Have you ever wanted to use a different version of reference document for a master document or need to lock specific reference versions with the master document versions?

In ProjectWise Explorer, you can update a master document to use a different version of the same reference document (see Fig 1a and Fig 1b.) The version that you specify will be copied out when the master document is opened and used instead of the active version. This version of the reference will continue to be used by the master document until you select another version to lock to the master document.

 

 

In the “lock reference to specific versioned master document” use case, you can set “Lock reference document to versions” feature. When this feature is set, it will lock the referenced versions to the master document version as it is being created.

Note: The references are lock to the versioned master document. However, the active master document references link will be broken, allowing you to select a new path to a specific reference file to attach for the active master document.

This feature is available in the Datasource Settings, ProjectWise Administrator (see Fig 2.).

 

For more information to lock a specific version of a reference document to the master document, please refer to the ProjectWise V8i Help.

 

 

 

Anonymous
Parents
  • Thank you for the info. It remains for us still a problem when the lock is "on" and the option just below "prompt user to update on open" only works when the lock is "on". When the lock is off, the reference defaults always to the latest version of the reference file which is not what we always want. that is PWE 10.00.03.271 ans PW Server 10.00.03.280. For some users we need the lock AND the Prompt, for other users we need the latest version but would be nice to still have the prompt though. Now this setting is forced on the entire Datasource. Would nice to be able to set this per project or per folder or workarea. 

    Thanks,

    Nico

Comment
  • Thank you for the info. It remains for us still a problem when the lock is "on" and the option just below "prompt user to update on open" only works when the lock is "on". When the lock is off, the reference defaults always to the latest version of the reference file which is not what we always want. that is PWE 10.00.03.271 ans PW Server 10.00.03.280. For some users we need the lock AND the Prompt, for other users we need the latest version but would be nice to still have the prompt though. Now this setting is forced on the entire Datasource. Would nice to be able to set this per project or per folder or workarea. 

    Thanks,

    Nico

Children
No Data