New Feature for ProjectWise SS3 and Batch Processing

Back in ProjectWise SS2 and prior when a user did a large MicroStation Batch Processing over a list of different files the user would get prompted to check in each document after it has been processed.  This caused users to not be able to walk away during a large Batch Process and come back when it's done, reason being they would have to sit and click check in on each and every single document.  The reason for this was that in ProjectWise SS2 and prior a new connection would be made for every operation we performed, thus asking the user to check the files back in one at a time.

Well this has been resolved with ProjectWise SS3 with a new user setting called, enable file transfer connection sharing, this is due to the change that ProjectWise now opens a connection between the client and the server, processes all the files, then closes the ONE connection.  This setting is located in the users>properties>settings>Network>Enable file transfer connection sharing  and is on by default.  

From the SS3 What’s new:

Network - Enable file transfer connection sharing — Allows a single connection to be used, for use when multiple files are being transferred to or from the storage area server as part of the same transaction, as initiated by a ProjectWise Explorer user.

When this setting is on (the default), then only one connection is opened and used to transfer all the files being uploaded or downloaded in a given transaction. When this setting is off (which is how ProjectWise has worked in previous releases), a new connection is opened to transfer each file in a given transaction.

Now by default, batch process commands (ie. batch print, batch process, batch convert, plan and profile sheet generation) can all leverage the built in functionality of PW V8i SS3 (Client) to only have one connection open and closed per batch.

This setting is recommended and may greatly reduce the time required to perform multi-file operations, such as when ProjectWise Explorer users upload many files as part of an initial import, or when they check out a master document that has many references and/or many managed workspace files associated to it. (Users who only check out one file at a time with no attachments will probably not notice any performance benefits from this user setting.)

Anonymous