Hey, Where are my references?

Hi All,

We encountered this with a few users though it would be a good share; In ProjectWise 08.11.xx we added support for reference set synchronization to use the xml.   User is upgrading ProjectWise Explorer from 08.09.xx to 08.11.xx with master files checked out/copied out on that workstation.  When the user upgrades with the master files checked out the xml file does not exist in the working directory (deleted state).   When user opens the master file after the upgrade the xml file is created in a dirty state.  Now when the user exits and checks in the master file the reference files are removed from the set.

Steps to reproduce:

  1. In V8XM version - Make sure leave local copy for user is turned on.
  2. Create a Master .dgn file with multiple references .dgn files in ProjectWise 
  3. Copy out the master or check out: 
  4. Now upgrade to V8i with files still checked out to the users machine
  5. xml files are created in the dmsxxxx --> dms folder
  6. Open the file and in the 'Select Reference Documents' under the Status column all the reference files show Up-To-Date
    1. If you open the reference manager all references are showing PW_WORKDIR:dmsxxxx
  7. Now check the file back in to ProjectWise

NOTICE the reference on the master is removed showing in the audit trail:

Checked out 5/17/2010 1:10:17 PM admin /TSG
Checked in 5/17/2010 1:11:11 PM admin Copy left /TSG
Member removed 5/17/2010 1:11:11 PM admin Member document 'BikeFrame.dgn' /TSG
Member removed 5/17/2010 1:11:11 PM admin Member document 'ColorTblWt.dgn' /TSG
Member removed 5/17/2010 1:11:11 PM admin Member document '1' /TSG
Member removed 5/17/2010 1:11:11 PM admin Member document '3' /TSG
Member removed 5/17/2010 1:11:11 PM admin Member document 'Constraints.dgn' /TSG
Copied out 5/17/2010 1:11:12 PM admin

TR#: 296014 
Product: ProjectWise Client V8i
Version: 08.11.07.133
Area: Explorer, Problem ID#: 46031, TROUBLEREPORT 

Solution:

TR# 296014  

Workaround:

Prior to upgrade (to avoid this issue):

  1. Check in all files and purge the document organizer for each user before upgrading. Delete the working directory incase any files are left behind.

After upgrade (to workaround the issue):

  1. Check in all files, Purge all copied out files via the local document organizer (just incase) and delete the working directory.
  2. To fix sets that are in a bad state running scan for references should fix the problem.

**Note that running scanref after the upgrade on a system with the files out prior to the upgrade will also remove the references. **

Anonymous