Make Changing the “Active Version” Easy !

       It helps when working with version changes to have in the ProjectWise Admin module to make sure  the setting:      Document List > Show All Versions is enabled (checked)

       Also, to clarify the process of changing versions, it’s good to add to your “View” from top menu > Views > Manage Views and add columns for “Version” and “Sequence” to aid

 in changing versions.   The idea behind versions is that nothing ever gets deleted, so that if needed, an old version of a document could be retrieved.  You cannot delete an “active”

 file if it has versions, as it will delete all versions as well.

        So to solve the problem, you need to promote the version you want to be active.

         Here's how you do that:

         Let’s say you have versions A,B, and C and C is the “Active” version (the one you are trying to delete).

         Your goal is to not keep C and, you want B to be the active version.

         Right click on the active version (C) and choose “New Version”.

         In the dialog that comes up, click on the 'Edit' button

         Provide a version number (In my case I used D)

          Highlight version B then click change, you get:

         "Do you want to change this version to become the active documents"    Click Okay.

          Version D is an exact copy of B, and version C becomes a non active version.

          Now you can delete version C which is the one you wanted to get rid of in the first place.

          In the end you have versions A, B, and D

 

Anonymous
  • Hello,

    We tried this process but the "create new version" is grayed out. I understood this is because we have a rule based workflow. How could we get to use your advised process/ result with a rule based workflow ? Thanks in advance

  • Much too cumbersome.

    It is very common for a user to say " I have accidentally versioned the wrong document to C. Can you revert to the previous version?"

    I follow a process like the one detailed here but add three more steps.

    We now have A,B, and D with D identical to B.

    So we delete B,

    then create a new version from D being sure to call it B,

    then delete D.

    Now we have A and B only.

    The diificulty with this is that next time we create a new version from B, unless we manually call it C the system will by default call it F. This is because the automated versioning uses the Sequence to decide what version it should create next.

    A is sequence 0

    B was sequence 1

    C was sequence 2

    D was sequence 3

    new B is sequence 4

    now when I create a new version it is sequence 5 and automatically becomes F unless you intervene.

    Our users expect to just create a version abd have the system increment to the next character so this causes an issue for them.

    As an added complication in our case our first version is blank. That is sequence 0 has no version character. This is a practice which goes back to when the organisation first started.

    If a user accidentally creates verion A (sequence 1) then there is no way of reverting to just the original without a version character because once a version is created every subsequent version must have a character in the version.

    This means that I have to

    1. Copy the attribute sheet

    2. Copy the file

    3. Delete the file (both versions)

    4. Recreate the file

    5. Reattach the attribute sheet

    6. Scan Ref

    painfull.

  • I would have to say EASY is a stretch.  I deal with this on a daily basis and it seems no matter how much training, it is still a confusing process.  Mostly it is the fact that the Version dosn't match the version number in the file stamp.  Ideally i would much rather have a tool that i can reverion the files without creating "dummy versions" that i have to delete

    The post is good, it is just that the process of changing a version is cumbersom.