Do you Check in or Free a document?

HI all,

One of my users has recently lost some data in PW.

He created a MS word document and saved it on the 15th of December. On the 17th of December he opened this document but made no changes, but instead of checking the file back in he clicked on the free command.

Now all the information in this document has been lost.

OK now the interesting bit:

IS this an error and should not have happened?

Is there a way to restore the document back to its last save on the 15th of December?

Parents
  • Hello,

    It sounds like your user has not checked in the Word document with the changes to PW on the 15th of December. Your user has just saved the changes locally by pressing button "Save" within MS Word application. Is that correct?

    If that is the case - then freeing document on December 17th might have (depending on PW user settings) discarded the changes by removing document copy (with the changes) from client machine working directory. The changes were never saved to central ProjectWise Integration Server (using check-in ), therefore he might have lost his changes.

    There is a PW user setting "Use local recycle bin on Free". If it is ON - the freed copy with the modifications would have been moved to the local Recycle bin.

    To summarize: if your user did not check-in the document with changes - then it's not an error. Also, it depends on user settings what is done to a local document copy on Free operation. Checking document audit trail might help understand what has happened.

    Regards,

    Rimantas

Reply
  • Hello,

    It sounds like your user has not checked in the Word document with the changes to PW on the 15th of December. Your user has just saved the changes locally by pressing button "Save" within MS Word application. Is that correct?

    If that is the case - then freeing document on December 17th might have (depending on PW user settings) discarded the changes by removing document copy (with the changes) from client machine working directory. The changes were never saved to central ProjectWise Integration Server (using check-in ), therefore he might have lost his changes.

    There is a PW user setting "Use local recycle bin on Free". If it is ON - the freed copy with the modifications would have been moved to the local Recycle bin.

    To summarize: if your user did not check-in the document with changes - then it's not an error. Also, it depends on user settings what is done to a local document copy on Free operation. Checking document audit trail might help understand what has happened.

    Regards,

    Rimantas

Children