Made document security changes to workflow state in Adminstrator. Existing folders with this workflow don't reflect the changs. New folders do. For existing folders I've tried removing and replacing the workflow and removing and replacing the workflow as a project resource.
If you change the workflow state security your changes should be seen by any existing document using that workflow state as soon as the changes are saved to the database
I agree with Ian. If you modify any of the security settings of state(s) in a workflow applied to a folder, that will take effect immediately and there is no need to re-apply anything. You might need to logout of the datasource to see the difference, but that would be the most you would have to do.
In addition to workflow security, you can also apply additional specific folder and/or document security to a folder. Combined, that is the "real" security that applies ("real" being the term Bentley uses in the drop-down selection). If you look at a folder's properties, you can see if this is the case. It should also tell you if it the folder is inheriting any of the security settings.
In your case, I suspect existing folders that didn't seem to be affected by your workflow security change have additional security settings, but newly created folders do not, which would explain the behavior you are seeing.
Please note that I post here on a voluntary basis and am not a Bentley employee.
I like Jeff's suggestion about the additional security settings.
Remember there is folder security, file security and workflow-state security and a precidence as to which of the 3 is applied in which order. There is a white paper on projectwise security and how it is appiled in the bentley site. - I would agree with Jeff you are probably applying security in several projectwise settings and seeing the end result.
I think security changes are instant and not cached in the client (workflow state add or remove or ordering may be cached and require a logoff/login)