How to make the Free button on the ProjectWise Check In dialog unavailable?
When closing a Promis.e or Bentley Substation project page that resides in a ProjectWise datasource, the default behavior is that the design file is automatically checked back in when the page is closed.
If the “Show ProjectWise check in dialog” toggle is enabled on Setup > ProjectWise, the Check In dialog will appear when a page is closed, prompting the user to Check In, Update Server Copy, Free, or Cancel.
Freeing a checked out document makes it available for other users to check out minus the changes that were made while the document was checked out. Freeing a checked out project page would cause discrepancies with the project database, so for project pages in promis.e and Bentley Substation, the Free button operates like the Cancel button and leaves the page checked out.
This document describes how make the Free button unavailable (grayed out) on the Check In dialog to avoid confusion.
Note: This is a ProjectWise setting and will affect all documents, not just project pages.
In ProjectWise Administrator, drill into Servers > [server name] > Datasources > ProjectWise > Users.
Right-click the user Name being used to connect promis.e/Bentley Substation to ProjectWise and select Properties.
Go to the Settings tab.
Expand Document and de-select the Free option.